How to be both clean and plastic free

One of my most successful ventures (and the first area I focussed on) for eradicating plastic was in my day-to-day toiletries.

I thought using a ‘plastic free alternative’ would mean some sort of sacrifice in quality or that I’d have to pay out of my arse. I thought travelling would be difficult. I also thought the only place I’d be able to find things would be Lush. And that bar soaps were an unsanitary relic of the past.

Alas! I was all wrong – yeah sure, you have to find the product that works for you, but that’s the same whether it comes in a plastic tube or not. And there is variety: there’s so many cool, small brands out there. Also, because the majority of zero waste products are simplistic in their ingredients and, a lot of the time, organic, I’ve been prone to less breakouts and my skin isn’t putting up with loads of nasty chemicals.

Also, bar soaps are awesome.

Here’s a breakdown of what I use, excluding my handsoap (which is in an old plastic soap bottle and is refilled at a zero waste shop):

What I use in the shower: bar shampoo (£7 .50, Jumping Juniper, Lush), conditioner refilled at a zero waste shop (normally around £1), a reusable razor (£20), bar soap (gift for Christmas, Lush), and shaving soap bar (£2.62, Friendly)

I did try the Friendly brand shampoo bar, but let me tell you it did not get on with my hair at all. Plus the Lush one smells beautiful and leaves my hair smoothy smooth. I LOVE Friendly for its shaving soap, face soap, and body soap though.

I also think I’m going to do a separate post on shaving with a safety razor, because it does take some practice (it’s worth it though).

Skin care: Shade SPF25 suncream (was a gift), cleansing bar (£2.62, Cocoa Butter, Friendly), face cream (£9, Jasmine & Neroli day cream, Sapooni)

I was most worried at skincare, but my skin is better than it’s ever been. At first I bought another moisturiser, having struggled to find a plastic free option, and it cost me £24. Honestly, I was horrified about the thought of dishing that out every couple of months. Then I found this little beauty at a local zero waste shop for £9 and, honestly, my skin just loves it.

Dental care: bamboo toothbrush (was a gift, Planet Emporium), tooth tabs with fluoride (£2 for 30), dental floss (£5 for a pack of two refills)

Again, dental care was a bit of a stickler for me – not so much the floss or the toothbrush, but the toothpaste. I didn’t want to use anything without fluoride, that just isn’t in the gameplan for me. BUT (and it’s a big but), I found these tabs in a zero waste store that contained it. It’s a bit more dear than a tube, but I’ve afforded myself this indulgence (lol).

Deodorant (£6, Happy Holistics)

Ah, deodorant. Well, I have to admit I’m not liking the one I’m using at the moment. It just doesn’t agree with me and I spend most of the day worrying I smell. I was using Fit Pit, comes in a glass jar that you apply yourself (ordered online) and it was wonderful – I recommend it highly. Stupidly I decided to try another brand, this was a mistake unfortunately.

Misc: exfoliator (£9.25, Lush), body moisturiser (£15.95, Lush)

Now, I know what you’re thinking: plastic, she’s a lying liar of lie town. Yeah, but hear me out: the pot of Sleepy I’ve had for a while now and I’m using up to replace it with something more zero waste. The exfoliator I received in a giftset at Christmas and I love. Also, I may in the future buy Lush tubs of stuff, I’ll admit, as they’re made of recycled plastic and if you bring them back to Lush, cleaned out, they take them from you to be reused (and you can get a cheeky free face mask or exfoliator).

Rags (haha): normally used to wrap up soap bars when travelling, the top is an old exfoliating sponge that will be replaced with a biodegradable alternative.

When travelling, this stuff fits easily into a large cosmetic bag. I just wrap my soaps in a cloth, as well as the head of my safety razor and pop it in. They’re not heavy and I find I own less toiletries then I did before. Organic, cruelty free, and plastic free – sounds perfect to me.

I’m totally going to do a post of the amazing zero waste shops that I know, because they’re incredible and they deserve their own little ramble.

Is there anything you could switch out with a plastic free alternative?

3 thoughts on “How to be both clean and plastic free

Leave a comment